Facts about Puerto Rico

Learn about Puerto Rico. This video includes significant weather events and can be used as part of a discussion on the weather.

Video Notes

Spanish-Speaking Countries of the World: Presenting Puerto Rico

Did you know that the name "Puerto Rico" means "rich port" in Spanish? The official name of this island territory is the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Located in the northeast Caribbean Sea, Puerto Rico is an island territory of the United States.

Christopher Columbus discovered the island in 1493, just a year after he discovered the Americas. After centuries of Spanish rule, Puerto Rico became a US territory in 1898 following the Spanish-American War.

The Flag of Puerto Rico 

The three red stripes represent the blood that nourishes the three branches of government. The white stripes symbolize individual liberty, while the blue triangle represents the government. The lone white star stands for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

The currency in Puerto Rico is the US dollar. However, locals often refer to it as the peso or dollar.

With a population of around 3.4 million, Puerto Rico boasts a vibrant culture that has been shaped by a mix of Spanish, United States, and Afro-Caribbean influences.

The capital of Puerto Rico is San Juan. El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan) is an area filled with colonial buildings.

The national dish of Puerto Rico is arroz con gandules, or rice with pigeon peas. It's typically made with ham, pork, chorizo, red peppers, and olives.

Interesting Facts

Puerto Rico is a US commonwealth, and Puerto Ricans are US citizens. However, they cannot vote in US elections because Puerto Rico is not a state.

The coqui, a little frog native to Puerto Rico, is known for its iconic call in the evenings, which is uniquely associated with the island.

Hurricane Maria struck Puerto Rico in September 2017, causing widespread devastation and a humanitarian crisis.

The El Yunque National Forest is the only tropical rainforest in the US National Forest System.

The original natives of Puerto Rico, the TaĆ­no, called the island "Borinquen" and referred to themselves as "Boricua."

Baseball is the favorite sport of Puerto Rico, closely followed by basketball and boxing.

Puerto Rico is a popular tourist destination thanks to its beautiful beaches and moderate climate year-round.

The national flower of Puerto Rico is the flor de maga, which grows on the maga tree.

The Puerto Rican cuatro is the national instrument of Puerto Rico. Originally, it had four strings, but now it has ten.
Famous Puerto Ricans include Jennifer Lopez, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Ricky Martin, and Daddy Yankee.

Mi Camino Spanish on YouTube

From Lesson: Spanish Seasons and Weather

Learning Gig Lesson List: Beginner Spanish 1.1

From Learning Gig: Beginner Spanish 1.1

Processing ... Please wait